Hurricane Matthew: Travel Waivers for US Airports Announced

by Enoch

Hurricane Matthew, the Category 4 storm currently in the Caribbean, has already resulted in residents moving in shelters. As it nears the East Coast, a few US airlines have announced travel waivers for airports that might be affected.

American Airlines

American Airlines is waiving change fees if you bought your ticket by October 4, 2016, and are scheduled to travel October 6 – 7, 2016. The following Florida airports are included:

  • Daytona Beach, Florida (DAB)
  • Fort Lauderdale, Florida (FLL)
  • Jacksonville, Florida (JAX)
  • Key West, Florida (EYW)
  • Melbourne, Florida (MLB)
  • Miami, Florida (MIA)
  • Orlando, Florida (MCO)
  • West Palm Beach, Florida (PBI)

You can check American Airlines’ website to see the longer list of Bahamas Islands and Central Caribbean airports included in the waiver.

Delta Air Lines

If your flight is cancelled or delayed for 90 minutes or more, you can get a refund for the unused portion of your ticket. Delta will waive the fee to make a one-time change to your ticket if your airport is affected. You ticket must be for a flight on October 6 or 7, 2016.

  • Daytona, FL (DAB)
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL (FLL)
  • Jacksonville, FL (JAX)
  • Key West, FL (EYW)
  • Melbourne, FL (MLB)
  • Miami, FL (MIA)
  • Orlando, FL (MCO)
  • West Palm Beach, FL (PBI)

You can check Delta’s website to see the other cities included, which may be subject to different constraints and date ranges.

Frontier Airlines

If your original flight is between October 5 and October 8, 2016, you can make one free itinerary change. Change fees, advance purchase, day/time constraints, blackouts, etc. will all be waived. The following airports are included:

  • Miami, FL (MIA)
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL (FLL)
  • Orlando, FL (MCO)
  • St. Augustine, FL (UST)

You can reschedule for a flight as far out as October 29, and you can get a refund if your flight is cancelled.  You can check Frontier’s website for more details.


If you are scheduled to travel between October 6 and October 9, JetBlue will waive change/cancellation fees and fare differences. The following US airports are included:

  • Charleston, SC (CHS)
  • Daytona Beach, FL (DAB)
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL (FLL)
  • Jacksonville, FL (JAX)
  • Orlando, FL (MCO)
  • Raleigh/Durham, NC (RDU)
  • Savannah/Hilton Head, GA (SAV)
  • West Palm Beach, FL (PBI)

You can rebook your travel to October 4 – October 16. See JetBlue’s website for all the details, as well as additional airports included.

Southwest Airlines

Customers traveling to/from the following airports between October 4 to October 8 may reschedule or travel standby without fee. They can rebook for flights within 14 of their scheduled departures.

  • Ft. Lauderdale (FLL)
  • West Palm Beach (PBI)
  • Orlando (MCO), Tampa (TPA)
  • Ft. Myers (RSW)
  • Jacksonville (JAX) in Florida
  • Charleston, South Carolina (CHS)

See Southwest’s website for more details.

Spirit Airlines

Spirit airlines is waiving ticket charge and fare differences for a number of airports, with different date ranges:

  • Fort Lauderdale, FL (FLL)
  • Orlando, FL (MCO)
  • Myrtle Beach, SC (MYR)

See Spirit Airlines’ website for more details.

United Airlines

United will waive the change fee and any difference in fare for flights originally booked for travel between Oct. 5-7. Customers can rebook for new flights departing on or before Oct. 12. The following airports are included:

  • Fort Lauderdale, FL (FLL)
  • Jacksonville, FL (JAX)
  • Miami, FL (MIA)
  • Orlando, FL (MCO)
  • West Palm Beach, FL (PBI)

See United’s website for more details, and a full list of their travel notices.

The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment