Uber Is Collecting Your Data after Your Trip Is Over, How to Disable

Uber updated their app last month and you likely agreed to the T&Cs, but did you read them? Yesterday we listed out activities that could get you banned for life which were included in those updated terms, today we highlight that Uber is collecting location data for five minutes after the trip ends.

Here’s the exact language from Uber:

Uber collects your location data from the time of trip request through five minutes after the trip ends, including when the app is in the background. We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to enhance safety. Trip Related Location Data is collected during the following times:

When you are interacting with the Uber app and the app is foregrounded and visible.
When you’re on a trip: from the time you request a trip until when the trip is ended or cancelled by the driver, even if the Uber app is running in the background and not visible to you.
Up to five minutes after the driver ends a trip, even if the Uber app is in the background.

If you want to turn off collection, you can disable location services through your device settings.

On Android: Settings → Apps → Uber → scroll to “Permission” → toggle “Location”

On Android Lollipop (5.1) and earlier: Settings → Location → toggle Off

On iOS: Settings → Privacy → Location Services → Uber → choose “Never”

According to one supposed Uber employee, the tracking is being done for fraud prevention purposes:

Uber employee here. We were told the reason to track up to 5 mins after the trip is for fraud, ex if a driver doesn’t end the trip when she is supposed to. and to figure out where the pick up spots for each address are. A large building may have multiple points where people get picked up or dropped off and knowing those points would be very useful for the drivers and riders.

Related: Uber: These Activities Will Result in Being Banned for Life – No Touching, Flirting, Sex, Vomiting

uber

Comments

  1. Doesn’t that disable getting a pickup from your current location too? I think you’d have to enter your address each time you wanted a pickup…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *